Hidden

Standard

Our children just got home from camp and have shared all the songs they learned while there. One of their favorites is “Dynamite”. It’s a catchy song with fun lyrics, but not one we have listened to before. I usually only play contemporary Christian music for them. I figure I’ll do it as long as I can. Those of you who are parents know what I mean! The world is tugging for us and our children everyday.

Today, as we got in the car with the windows down, they requested to hear their new favorite song. As my husband played it for them my daughter told our son, “Quick! Roll up the windows this is not a Christian song.”

“Do you want to stand out? Then step down. Be a servant. If you puff yourself up, you’ll get the wind knocked out of you. But if you’re content to simply be yourself, your life will count for plenty. Matthew 23:11 (The Message)

I was convicted as I thought about her statement and all the things we try to hide from others (and ourselves). Whether it’s an addiction, a “worldly” idol, an unpure thought, habit or lack of faith we all have something we aren’t proud of and would like to hide. The paradox is the one we try to hide from and the one who loves us the most is the one we can never hide from. He knows our hearts and minds better than we know ourselves.

If we had forgotten to pray to our God or made fools of ourselves with store-bought gods, Wouldn’t God have figured this out? We can’t hide things from him. No, you decided to make us martyrs, lambs assigned for sacrifice each day. Psalm 44:20 (The Message)

What if we used all the energy it took to hide from God and others and put it towards becoming better disciples? What if we allowed God’s strength and power to reign in us. What if we dwelled on his word daily so we had God’s direction and peace so instead of hiding from Him we allowed Him to protect and hide us from our enemies and the evil of this world? God has plans to “prosper us not to harm us” (Jeremiah 29:11) His plans are “immeasurably more than we could ever imagine” (Ephesians 3:20). I pray we are able to stop hiding and place it all on God’s altar so that we don’t miss out on the plans he had for us before we were created. God will help us overcome our strongholds if we allow Him to. If we can’t, our full kingdom potential is at risk.

God is bedrock under my feet, the castle in which I live, my rescuing knight. My God—the high crag where I run for dear life, hiding behind the boulders, safe in the granite hideout; My mountaintop refuge, he saves me from ruthless men. 2 Samuel 22:2 (The Message)

Leave a Reply

