Covenience

Standard

If you say, “The LORD is my refuge,” and you make the Most High your dwelling,  no harm will overtake you, no disaster will come near your tent. For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways; they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone. Psalm 91:9-12

We were rushing out the door (shocker) so I asked Culli to please put on his flip-flops because we didn’t have time to wrestle, find and tie his shoes. He wasn’t interested in that at all. “I don’t like flip-flops!”, he said. To which I replied, “Come on honey, it’s summer. Everyone wears flip-flops in the summer.”

Blessed are those whose ways are blameless, who walk according to the law of the LORD. Blessed are those who keep his statutes and seek him with all their heart— they do no wrong but follow his ways. You have laid down precepts that are to be fully obeyed.  Psalm 119:1-4

“Mommy, just because everyone else does it doesn’t mean I should.”, he said proudly as he threw my own words (he had heard so often) back at me.  I’m just as quick to encourage my daughter to practice her piano without fussing because her friend Molly doesn’t fuss as I am to tell my children that just because Billy drinks soda doesn’t mean we should. “Just because someone else does it – doesn’t make it right.”, I tell them. Please tell me I’m not the only mom guilty of using persuasion when it’s convenient for me.

My point in this “confessions from a mom” story is that to often we look to God’s word, His laws and His power when it’s convenient for us. Real, lasting relationships are not built on convenience. Did you ever have a friend that just called you when she couldn’t reach anyone else? How did it make you feel? Think of our God, the creator of all we see and don’t see, the healer, the comforter, the Great I AM . . . . When I remind myself of the God I serve and all that He is and it’s embarrassing and very disappointing to think that I have taken His Word so casually. Our God is not here for our convenience. He is here to be our Prince of Peace, our protector, our mighty fortress . . . He IS all we need. But, not just when it’s convenient for us.

You blew with all your might and the sea covered them. They sank like a lead weight in the majestic waters. Who compares with you among gods, O God? Who compares with you in power, in holy majesty, In awesome praises, wonder-working God? Exodus 15:10 (The Message)

One thought on “Covenience

Leave a Reply

