But, God . . .

Standard

I have written before on how the word “but” can drive me nutty when used as an excuse or as a disclaimer that basically means I am only accountable unless this happens, except for when, contrary to what you think.
But today I want to look at it from another angle. Let’s look at “but” not as an excuse, but as a blessing.

When I was studying Romans 5:8, the “but, God” stood out to me. I decided to research more “but, God” references in scripture and found they are everywhere.

Synonyms for but include: however, nevertheless, still, yet. When you are reading the “but, God” part replace it with one of these synonyms for emphasis. Let’s take a look.

I am a willful, disobedient sinner and will never come close to measuring up . . . “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

I put God on a shelf for so long and was scared to return because of what He would think of me. . .
“But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him. Luke 15:20

I should never be forgiven for past sins . . . But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, Ephesians 2:4

I feel all alone, like no one cares and everyone has forgotten me . . .
But God will never forget the needy; the hope of the afflicted will never perish. Psalm 9:18

Some days I feel like things are to overwhelming to go on and I wonder how I can . . .
My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. Psalm 73:26

I encourage you to search for more of these during your devotional time this week. There are many, many more. I pray these “but, God” scriptures bring you encouragement, strength, courage and peace.


One thought on “But, God . . .

Leave a Reply

