Admission

Standard

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. James 1:17

I have to admit, I recently got so tired of hearing my children say “Mommy” a hundred times a day that I took an idea from a sweet friend I have recently met and had them pick a new name to call me that day. (I’m not sure I will offer them this option when they are teenagers) So, for an entire day they called me GodChick instead of Mommy. It was wonderful. Instead of hearing my name and ignoring it or becoming frustrated, I would smile when they called out GodChick to get my attention or ask a question. It was such a welcome break.

I am so thankful our God never changes, never tires and never sleeps. I am thankful he never grows weary of hearing me call out to Him and asking for the same thing over and over. . . grace, peace, forgiveness, direction.
I praise Him for knowing my heart, knowing that I am trying to live as Jesus calls us to and understanding my daily struggle with the flesh. I’m thankful for the protection He offers if we are dwelling in His word and abiding in Him and thankful that he is all that I need and will never turn His back on

There are hundreds of descriptions of who God is, what He provides and what He has promised in the Bible. This week, I have listed a few that mean a lot to me and given you the scripture reference. I hope you will find time in your week to look up these verses and read them as a reminder of all He wants to offer you.
Praise God! He is our:

Guide (Psalm 48:14)
Defender (Psalm 68:5)
Giver (James 1:17)
Comforter (II Cor. 1:4)
Fortress (Psalm 18:2; 91:2 )
Foundation (I Cor. 3:11)
Living water (John 7:38)
Peace (Ephesians 2:14)
Perfecter (Hebrews 12:2)
Physician (Luke 4:23)
Portion (Psalm 119:57)
Strength (Psalm 18:1; 28:7; 46:1;73:26)

“Stand up and praise the LORD your God, who is from everlasting to everlasting” “Blessed be your glorious name, and may it be exalted above all blessing and praise. Nehemiah 9:5

Leave a Reply

