Symbiotic

Standard

I’m singing my heart out to God—what a victory! He pitched horse and rider into the sea. God is my strength, God is my song, and, yes! God is my salvation. This is the kind of God I have and I’m telling the world! This is the God of my father— I’m spreading the news far and wide! God is a fighter, pure God, through and through. (excerpt from Exodus 15:1)

“Mommy, we have a symbiotic relationship.”, my son declared as we were riding down the road. “What do you mean?”, I asked as I was trying to recall those school science lessons from so long ago. “Well, you needed me to sweep the porch and when I did you gave me money. We have a symbiotic relationship. Just like the clown fish and sea anemone.” I was so glad my husband and daughter were in the car to hear this one or I don’t think anyone would have believed me.

For those of us who can’t remember all those old science lessons (me included): “A symbiotic relationship is one where one organism lives off another organism without causing either harm. In most cases, one organism benefits from the relationship and the other is not affected at all. ” (Askkids.com)

Once we, too, were foolish and disobedient. We were misled and became slaves to many lusts and pleasures. Our lives were full of evil and envy, and we hated each other. Titus 3:3 (NLT)

I began thinking back on  how my life was before I was in daily communication and fellowship with the Lord. It wasn’t pretty and there were no benefits to my prideful life as I tried to navigate this world on my own without any direction. I am so thankful God has given us His living Word so that we can have “live” forgiven, encouraged, empowered and meaningful lives in His name!

Sometimes, I still feel like a parasite draining the host dry with constant prayers, requests, conversations, needs and more. I praise Him that He is all powerful, mighty, unchangeable, and bigger than any of my problems or needs. He never sleeps or slumbers, never tires of hearing our praises or petitions and NEVER stops loving us.

Yes, life gets tough (sometimes it even seems unbearable), but God promises protection (Psalm 91). Not removal, but protection. Jesus paid the ultimate price on the cross for us. I’m just thankful that He lives inside me and fills my heart with joy, peace and love so that I can share it with others. It if wasn’t for the love of Christ dwelling in me, it would be impossible to love others as He has called me to.  Christ has claimed victory over death. The least we can do is try to live our lives in way that honor Him, His word and His sacrifice. Will you join me?

not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus: Philippians 2:4-5

Leave a Reply

