God Hates?

Standard

“Oh, I hate it when that happens”, I said under my breath. “Mommy, we don’t say “hate” in this house!”, my son quickly reminded me. Kids never let you off the hook. (If you are a mom – you know what I mean.) But, he was right. We don’t use that word in our house because it isn’t a kind word and it’s not one I want my children to grow accustomed to. It’s hard enough to teach your children that God has called us to love our enemy and turn the other cheek.

Do not bear a grudge against others, but settle your differences with them, so that you will not commit a sin because of them.Do not take revenge on others or continue to hate them, but love your neighbors as you love yourself. I am the Lord. Leviticus 19:17-19

God has called us to love as He does and leave any revenge in His hands. For this reason, these verses from proverbs really struck me when I was reading my Bible this week.

There are six things the LORD hates, seven that are detestable to him: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush into evil, a false witness who pours out lies and a person who stirs up conflict in the community. Proverbs 6:16-19

I looked up six or seven different Bible translations of this passage to see if the word “hate” appeared in them. It did! It occurred to me that we tend to focus more on God’s love for us, His promises and His truths. Those are all important, but just as important are the things that our God hates. He hates sin and especially hates these certain ones listed in Proverbs. These verses are a good reminder that we need to maintain a healthy respect for our Lord and Savior. We are to be God-fearing and not forget His power and glory above all things. This world down plays the things listed in Proverbs such as arrogance, deceit, lying, evil, wickedness and troublemakers, but our God and His rules are to be taken seriously.

Look for it as hard as you would for silver or some hidden treasure.5 If you do, you will know what it means to fear the Lord and you will succeed in learning about God. It is the Lord who gives wisdom; from him come knowledge and understanding. Proverbs 2:4-6

For further study, I have also included Proverbs 6:16-19 from the Message translation. I hope it takes you deeper as you abide in His word.

Here are six things God hates,
and one more that he loathes with a passion:
eyes that are arrogant,
a tongue that lies,
hands that murder the innocent,
a heart that hatches evil plots,
feet that race down a wicked track,
a mouth that lies under oath,
a troublemaker in the family. Proverbs 6:16-19 (The Message)

Leave a Reply

