Abide

Standard

If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. John 15:7

My son and I were discussing who should let my daughter in on some bad news when he said, “Mommy, you should tell her because you always find a way to lower her “out of controlness!” I was amazed he thought that, because I don’t see it that way at all. In fact, sometimes I think I raise her “out of controlness”.

Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever. Psalm 23:6

When life seems to spiral out of control or I am facing challenges that seem impossible to overcome I often think that God thinks way to highly of me. Then I remember He formed me in my mother’s womb and knows my heart even better than I know it myself. My earthly flesh tends to spiral into the “out of controllness” zone, but then I am reminded through God’s word to abide, to dwell and to remain in Him and He will provide, protect and proclaim for me.

Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts. Colossians 3:16

I learned this week that in Greek the literal translation for the Word means a face-to-face relationship with God. What a marvelous thing to remember as we try to overcome these earthly reactions and try to stay grounded in the Word of our Father.

In God’s Word, He  talks a lot about abiding which to dwell or reside in a place, or to await something or someone. I can’t think of anyone I would rather reside with or wait for than our Lord and Savior. The one who created His written Word so we could have a face-to-face relationship with Him and allowed His son to die for us so the Holy Spirit could dwell in us.

For in the day of trouble he will keep me safe in his dwelling; he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent and set me high upon a rock. Psalm 27:5

Rejoice today! We have a provider, a protector and one who will proclaim His Word through us to all the nations if we remain in Him and allow Him to dwell in us.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. 6 If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. John 15:5-6
**** Don’t forget***** There is only one more week left in the “GodChick” contest. Send me your definition of a GodChick and win a t-shirt and signed copy of my new Bible study.

One thought on “Abide

  1. Allison, i am amazed at your writings . I love the way you have of go into detail
    It really touches my heart. Keep letting God find you listening for His Whispers.

Leave a Reply

