Why GodChick?

Standard

Many people have asked me how I came up with “GodChick”. So this week, I thought I would share the story behind the name.  

About 4 years and 3 houses ago my husband gave me a bracelet with “GodChick” on it. I, of course, LOVED it and wore it until it started to tarnish and turn (it was only a $7 bracelet). Once I had to retire the bracelet to my jewelry box I started to think about what I could do to keep it a part of me so I searched the NC DMV database and found that no one in NC had “GodChick” as their license tag so I scooped it up.  

Keep in mind that is way before God had begun my ministry and this was also the same house that I had Ralph Waldo Emerson’s quote “Let us be silent so that we may hear the whisper of God” above my bath tub.

So, about a year later when I started to blog what I had been keeping as a journal in just a Word document, I thought what better title for a blog than The Whisper of God. As God continued to grow the blog into a devotional and ministry it was clear that my website had to be godchickdevotions.com. I was, after all, the “GodChick” driving around town.

So it isn’t anything earth shattering, but just another great story about how our God weaves our lives together to accomplish His plan.

Another question I am always asked is, “What exactly is a GodChick?” So today I want to issue a challenge to all of you. E-mail me your definition of a GodChick. I’ll choose the best one and post it on my blog and website.

The winner will also get a copy of my new Bible study In The Mi[God]dle and a GodChick t-shirt and bumper sticker.

The LORD said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the LORD, for the LORD is about to pass by. ”Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake came a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave. 1 Kings 19:11-13

Leave a Reply

