Just Breathe

Standard

Then one who looked like a man touched my lips, and I opened my mouth and began to speak. I said to the one standing before me, “I am overcome with anguish because of the vision, my lord, and I feel very weak. How can I, your servant, talk with you, my lord? My strength is gone and I can hardly breathe.” Again the one who looked like a man touched me and gave me strength. Daniel 10:16-18

When our children get hurt sometimes they get so upset they forget to breathe. My husband and I have to say, “Breathe! Take a breath! Breathe!” so they won’t pass out.

Have you ever experienced a time in your life when something seemed to overwhelming to face or so scary that you had to remind yourself to “just breathe” to “take a deep breath”? Unfortunately, I can answer “yes” to this question. How do we remember to take it to God first, take a breathe and find the peace and trust we need in His word?

Again Jesus said, “Peace be with you! As the Father has sent me, I am sending you.” And with that he breathed on them and said, “Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive anyone’s sins, their sins are forgiven; if you do not forgive them, they are not forgiven.” John 20:21-23

If we fill up our hearts and minds with God’s word and promises daily, when we are faced with challenges, instead of forgetting to trust God – we will hear His still small voice reminding us of his presence and words of comfort and peace. Receive His peace and love today. He died so that we would have life. Let’s not waste that incredible and sacrificial gift of love from our Father in Heaven.

Heavenly Father, giver of all things, creator of all we see and all we don’t, your love for me is astounding and brings me to my knees. I am in awe of you – all you were, all you are and all you will be. Christ Jesus, you dwell in me and I claim your love and power today. I claim the peace only you can offer. I claim the forgiveness you sacrificed your son to provide for me. Please use me to draw others to you and give me the strength and courage to seek and serve you daily in a mighty way. In your holy, holy, holy name I pray, Amen.

Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.”When he had said this, he breathed his last.  Luke 23:46

Leave a Reply

