Do Over

Standard

Then he called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me and for the gospel will save it. What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Mark 8:34-36.

Have you ever have one of those days? One of those days you had all planned out, but when the day began everything seemed to go wrong or at least not the way you had wanted it to. When events side swipe me in the middle of life my mind can become dizzy with the unknown details of events and even though I have no control over them worry begins to penetrate my thoughts.

“Hand it over to the Lord” my heart screams as my mind tugs back trying to take control again.  Denying the god of me, myself and I can be a constant struggle some days. Sometimes, I wish I had a way to hit the pause or rewind button to go back and start over. “I need a do over”, my husband and I say. Often, a “do over” seems like a much more appealing option than having to stick it out where my circumstances have landed me.

My steps have held to your paths; my feet have not stumbled. Psalm 17:5

But, I wonder what I would miss if I was able to do that. Would I grow in Christ if I always took the easy way out. Would I see Him at work in my daily life if I never stumbled off His path? More importantly, would my life shine in such a way that led others to Christ? I feel confident in answering “no” to all of these questions.

For your ways are in full view of the LORD, and he examines all your paths. Proverbs 5:21

The Lord knows what obstacles are trying to overtake us because He is walking with us. He is able to keep us from stumbling if we allow Him to help us. He will reveal Himself to us through words of encouragement and peace if we seek Him through His word. The good news is that we don’t need a “do over” because Christ already took care of that when he died for me and for you on the cross.

having canceled the charge of our legal indebtedness, which stood against us and condemned us; he has taken it away, nailing it to the cross. Colossians 2:14






Leave a Reply

