Letting Go

Standard

“Submit to God and be at peace with him; in this way prosperity will come to you. Job 22:21

The holiday season (and often times just life itself) can bring emotions to the surface that we thought had been resolved, emotions we thought we were above or that we pushed so far away we thought they would never surface again. Many times, it has to do with letting go of something: Letting go of a past betrayal, guilt over an action, expectations that were not met or a lifestyle you had grown accustom to. Are you struggling to let go of anything during this season of life?

Sometimes, these emotions creep up on me when I least expect it and I find myself shocked at what my heart is feeling. Then, the guilt starts in  . . . how can I feel like this and have a heart for God? How can God still love me and use me for His purpose when my selfish heart is in the way? I have learned that being honest with God is the best medicine to restore my heart from one of chaos to peace. When I am able to overcome these human emotions I know that God is at work because I could have never done it alone.

“Everything is possible for one who believes.” Mark 9:23

We have heard many times, “Let Go and Let God”, but do we ever heed the advice?  Think of all the benefits we would receive if we would actually do as this saying suggest and let God in. Let Him in to heal the pain, take the place of something worldly or simply find rest in His presence and many blessings.

Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but not with God; all things are possible with God.” Mark 10:27

It is impossible for us to change our hearts without God’s help. I urge to you search your heart for the things you have been holding on to, but need to let go. Go to God with it – the pain, the hurt, the guilt, the embarrassment – take it all. Then, Pay attention, and listen to me; be silent, and I will speak. Job 33:31


One thought on “Letting Go

  1. Perfect reflection this time of year (or anytime!)
    This is something I try and work on quite a bit. I let it go and sometimes it sneaks back in when you least expect it… always a work in progress! ; )

Leave a Reply

