Did you see that?

Standard

“Did you see me do that?”, my son asked his friend as he ran off the basketball court.  “Why don’t you watch me just in case I do something amazing!” My son didn’t want his friend to miss anything amazing he might do on the basketball court.

I wonder how many times God whispers, “Did you see that? I’m right here. Did you notice?”

Joshua told the people, “Consecrate yourselves, for tomorrow the LORD will do amazing things among you.” Joshua 3:5

There are many reasons why we miss out all together on God’s amazing works. Not watching or paying close attention is the easy answer, but there are other ways that make us miss out. Anger and fear are two of the biggest culprits when it comes to blocking the view of our Lord and Savior’s amazing plans. Fear and anger reap destruction. They ruin friendships, destroy marriages, divide families and churches. Fear and anger can paralyze us and keep us from making the right choices.

I sought the LORD, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears. Psalm 34:4

Is there something going on in your life or a circumstance you are angry or afraid about? Is there a big change happening that you don’t understand and don’t like? Have you dug in your heals, resisted and complained without taking it to God in prayer and asking Him what His will is? Do you have the courage to follow God and ask Him to give you the courage it takes to step out of your comfort zone? When we step out of our comfort zone, God does His best work.

It comes down to some personal decisions. Some personal and tough questions! Do we want to be a part of His amazing plan? Are we willing to sacrifice, as He did for us, in order to further His kingdom. Are we willing to put ourselves aside and see what God has in mind? Are we willing to try something new for His kingdom’s sake? It isn’t always comfortable or easy and it isn’t always what comes naturally, but it’s an amazing feeling to be a part of God’s work. Is stepping out of your comfort zone and embracing change or offering forgiveness worth bringing others to Christ? Sometimes, that is what God calls us to do just for that reason.

Anyone who chooses to do the will of God will find out whether my teaching comes from God or whether I speak on my own. John 7:17

I pray that whatever anger or fear we are holding on to today dissolves with each tear that falls and every word we lift up to our Heavenly Father so that Satan does not have his way with us. When I was growing up, before every overnight trip my mom would always say, “Remember your morals, values and where you come from.” In other words, don’t get caught up in the moment and make a mistake that you will regret.  Remember: You are a child of God! Keep your eyes on the Light of the world. He is doing some amazing things. Will you join Him?

to open their eyes and turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan to God, so that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me.’ Acts 26:18

One thought on “Did you see that?

  1. Did you write this for me today?? Maybe I really have discerned the word of God for my particular situation and am just afraid to move forward. Hmmm…? Back to the praying board!

Leave a Reply

