Download Complete

Standard

I was explaining to my daughter that we didn’t have a particular item she was requesting.  “Can’t you just get it from the Internet?”, she pleaded.  Oh, yes!  My daughter, at only six years old, already understands and appreciates the wonders of technology.  It is amazing.  We can upgrade to a new version of software, order food, books, toys, music or anything else your heart desires without even leaving your home.

However, there are still a few things we can’t get from the Internet.  We can’t stick our finger in the computer and download a relationship with God.  We can’t  order one either.  It takes effort, study and discipline to get to know Him.

“And you, my son Solomon, acknowledge the God of your father, and serve him with wholehearted devotion and with a willing mind, for the LORD searches every heart and understands every motive behind the thoughts. If you seek him, he will be found by you; but if you forsake him, he will reject you forever.” 1 Chronicles 28:9

We have to find the time to spend with our Lord and Savior.  Without His direction we will meander through life missing out on His plan, His opportunities and feeling the peace of His forgiveness.  As I was putting my daughter to bed last night, she said, “Mommy, I love you so much; I can’t even explain how much.”  It was a special moment.  As a mom, I crave to hear those words from my children.  Especially as they get older.

It is the same with our Father in Heaven.  He adores us!  Hard to imagine with the way we act and the things we do sometimes, but He does.  He desires time with us and wants us to seek and enjoy time alone with Him.  He wants us to get to know Him through His word, prayer and quiet time so that He can grow us in ways we never imagined.  The more we know Him the more we trust Him, seek Him and are blessed by Him.

“O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.” Psalm 63:1

Leave a Reply

