Light

Standard

And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. Genesis 1:3

We were recently out-of-town visiting family. We were all sleeping in the same room chatting before we went to sleep. When I turned out the light it was so dark. I knew I had turned on a nightlight for the kids, but I couldn’t tell it was on. I got up to check it, but in just a few seconds my eyes adjusted and the room seemed to fill up with light. The nightlight was definitely on. My eyes just needed to adjust.

And God said, “Let there be lights in the expanse of the sky to separate the day from the night, and let them serve as signs to mark seasons and days and years, Genesis 1:14

As I lay there praying, I thanked God for His Word that is a light in this dark world. God’s Word helps us put things into perspective, it teaches, sheds light on life’s challenges and how to deal with it. I’m not saying that it takes away the despair from losing a loved one, the heartbreak of broken vows, the tears that fall from pain or the instant cure for addiction and depression. But, I am saying that it offers a hope – a healing – a peace that nothing but God’s light can give.

God is the light of this world! He wants to be a radiant energy in your life that illuminates all that is good and the path for you to follow. Allow Him in to light a fire in your soul that will help guide you and light the path He intends for you to follow.

I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness. John 12:46

Leave a Reply

