True Story!

Standard

If you are questioning whether to delete this weeks blog before you look at it – I encourage you to keep reading. This answer from God came swift, fierce and He made it clear He was in EVERY detail of this challenging time in my families life. I pray it brings you encouragement and restores your faith in the fact that God is present and in every detail of your life.

They were helped in fighting them, and God handed the Hagrites and all their allies over to them, because they cried out to him during the battle. He answered their prayers, because they trusted in him. 1 Chronicles 5:20

Let me give you a little background. Our house has been on the market for 7 months. Like a lot of people we are trying to downsize – especially since my husband changed careers. Pruning is always humbling – especially financial pruning! Can I get an Amen?!

On Sunday, I was sitting on the front porch with our daughter and I confessed to her that I was a little frustrated God hadn’t responded to our prayers about selling the house. I reiterated that we are blessed in so many ways, but I was feeling a little impatient and confused about His plan.We were trying to be financially obedient and nothing was happening.

Side note – I think it is a good idea to be honest with our kids and friends about our feelings and relationship with God so that their expectations are realistic and they don’t get caught up in thinking everyone else is perfect and they aren’t in their thoughts and actions. Conversations like these with my kids not only teach them, but they teach me!

Anyway, Emma put her hand on her hip and said, “Mommy, you know God has a plan for us. You just have to be patient.” Out of the  mouth of a 7-year old. I thanked her for reminding me of that and told her I was just feeling a little impatient to which she replied, “Well, I had to be patient at Annie’s birthday party and wait my turn to do the craft. I was last and it was hard to wait.” I love that sweet girl of mine and I pray we can always have these honest and open conversations.

Back to the story! I realized Emma was right and I needed to put those feelings of frustration and impatience on the altar for God. He knew my heart, but He was waiting on me to be honest with Him. God can handle the truth. In fact, He prefers it!

Tuesday, I had lunch with an amazing woman and author from Cary – Tara Furman. If you haven’t heard of her, you should check out her website www.knowinggodministries.net.

Tara reminded me to pray boldly and specifically for God to sell our home. You know, I tell people that all the time, but sometimes when we get bogged down in our drama we forget the things we know to be true. Well, it took Tara’s reminder and on Tuesday I started praying boldly and specifically that our house would sell by the end of the week. I felt like that was about as bold as I could get. Would you agree?

The next morning (Wednesday) before 8:00 we had a call from our real estate agent. We had an offer on our house! We began negotiations that would continue for 3 days.

On Thursday, we woke up and the For Sale sign that had been in our yard for 7 months had fallen over. I put it back in the yard that afternoon since it was raining that morning and Friday when we woke up it had fallen again! Now, some of you may say it was a coincidence, but no one could convince me of that. I am confident is was our God showing off in a mighty way that He was in the middle of our negotiations.

By Friday we had settled on a price and by Saturday we had signed a contract.

If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.” Matthew 21:22

I didn’t share this story to imply that all bold & specific prayers are answered. I did share it to encourage you in your prayer life, increase your trust in God, to show you that He is in the details and still performs miracles. Start looking for God in the details of your life. I pray He shows off for you in a mighty way.

3 thoughts on “True Story!

  1. Allison,
    That’s awesome! When I read your post it was like deja vu! As you know our house was on the market for 14 months last year, and we were just waiting for it to sell so that Chris could take the job with the State department. We knew God was calling Chris to take the job and for us to leave Raleigh, but we couldn’t keep the house (even if we rented it) and make the move financially. So, a week before the “deadline” of making the decision to turn down the State Department offer, I did exactly what you did and started praying boldly, and asking my “prayer warriors” to pray for us too! The next day, we had a showing and entered into negotiations! Even though we lost money financially on our house, we know God will provide and bless us even more for following His plan for us. It made us realize even more that we have to trust God with HIS plan for our lives! Thanks so much for sharing your story. I’ve had a lot going on this week and needed to hear Emma’s words – “God has a plan for us. You just have to be patient.” And whatever that plan is, it’s perfect! Hope to catch up in person soon!

  2. Sooooo excited for you!! Glad you got to meet Tara too…isn’t she fabulous?? Let’s get together soon and celebrate and talk about our amazing GOD!! Love ya, girl!

Leave a Reply

