Run

Standard

I had a friend and her little girl over to visit recently. At the end of the visit, when we announced to the children it was time to go they all fled upstairs and hid away in the secret hideout. It was cute at first, but as it continued we began to lose our patience.

One day long ago, God’s Word came to Jonah, Amittai’s son: “Up on your feet and on your way to the big city of Nineveh! Preach to them. They’re in a bad way and I can’t ignore it any longer.” But Jonah got up and went the other direction to Tarshish, running away from God. Jonah 1:1-3

I can relate with Jonah. Before I published The Whisper of God I was scared and to honest, I was scared more of success than failure. If you fail, you can say you tried and it didn’t work out. If you are successful, it means change. I prayed, waited and gave God many opportunities to lead me in a different direction. A direction that meant not publishing my devotional. He persisted and thankfully this time I was to scared to run from Him and chose to run towards Him. I would love to say that that decision came strictly from my obedience, but remembering and learning from past “whale swallowing” moments in my life helped some too!

If we run from the Lord, we are giving up so much. Things we could never have imagined become a reality when we allow Him in and follow his lead. Talk about scared!!! It scares me to think of what would have happened if I had not followed God’s nudge to lead a high school girl’s bible study, marriage seminar, small group or Wednesday morning bible study in my home. All those interactions, relationships, opportunities to share and grow in Christ would have been lost if I had run away.

But be very careful to keep the commandment and the law that Moses the servant of the LORD gave you: to love the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, to obey his commands, to hold fast to him and to serve him with all your heart and all your soul.”  Joshua 22:5

Is there something that God has placed on your heart that you are running away from? We run from things for all different reasons, but I am living proof that if it’s God’s plan and you are obedient He will provide and give you all you need to succeed.

So you can run, but make sure you are running in the right direction!

But you, Timothy, man of God: Run for your life from all this. Pursue a righteous life—a life of wonder, faith, love, steadiness, courtesy. Run hard and fast in the faith. Seize the eternal life, the life you were called to, the life you so fervently embraced in the presence of so many witnesses. 1 Timothy 6:11 (The Message)

Leave a Reply

