Trust or Denial?

Standard

“Mommy, can cockroaches tickle me?” my son asked on the way to visit a friend. I laughed and laughed at the idea of this and wondered how in the world this question had come up. It made my morning. This really has nothing to do with today’s devotion other than the fact that we all need to take more time to listen, laugh and relax. It’s good for the heart!

Sometimes, others look at me and wonder how I can remain balanced and at peace in certain situations and it makes me start to question myself? Seeds of doubt enter my mind and I begin to wonder if my calm and trusting heart is due more to denial than my trust in God. However, I know these doubts are only Satan trying to creep into my heart and steal away the trust and truth the Lord offers.

Guard your heart more than anything else, because the source of your life flows from it. (Proverbs 4:23 (God’s Word Translation)

So our heart is the “wellspring of life” (Proverbs 4:23 NIV), “where life starts” (The Message), and “determines the course of your life” (NLT). The condition of our heart determines the course of our life. That is a powerful statement. What is the condition of your heart?  Have you checked in on it lately?

God (Light) has come into this dark world to give us hope, new life, peace and redemption. He wants His Light to flow out of our hearts to those around us for His glory. I pray we will all guard our hearts so that seeds of doubt are not able to enter and begin to grow into fear, distrust and resentment. Trust or denial?  I choose TRUST!

“This is the crisis we’re in: God-light streamed into the world, but men and women everywhere ran for the darkness. They went for the darkness because they were not really interested in pleasing God. Everyone who makes a practice of doing evil, addicted to denial and illusion, hates God-light and won’t come near it, fearing a painful exposure. But anyone working and living in truth and reality welcomes God-light so the work can be seen for the God-work it is.”John 3:19 (The Message)

Leave a Reply

