Unsearchable

Standard

‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’ Jeremiah 33:3

I had just answered my son’s 73rd question of the day and it was only one o’clock in the afternoon. I try to be patient and answer each question with as much thought and energy as the first one of the day, but it gets difficult. I was a little frustrated and gave him a quick, “Yes!” In which he quickly reminded me, “Mommy, you know why I ask you lots of questions? You are the mom and you know everything. I am just a kid. It’s your job to teach me.”   Well, what can you say to that?

Our Lord and Savior promises to tell us wonderous and amazing things we could never imagine. In the NIV translation (Jeremiah 33:3) they use the word “unsearchable.” Unsearchable is defined as “not searchable; not lending itself to research or exploration; not to be understood by searching; hidden; unfathomable; mysterious: the unsearchable ways of the universe.”

Who doesn’t like to know hidden, secret, mysterious things?! God is offering each of us the opportunity to know “great and unsearchable things.” Things we will never know unless we ask Him to reveal them to us.

Although I am less than the least of all God’s people, this grace was given me: to preach to the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ, Ephesians 3:8

The Bible is the perfect map for life’s adventure/journey. It is God’s word – spoken to you and to me. He is reaching out and wants us to call out to Him so that He can reveal “marvelous and wondrous” things to us. We don’t need a secret map, a special key, lots of money or anything else to have these things – we only need to call to Him. When He answers, will you be listening?

‘Call to me and I will answer you. I’ll tell you marvelous and wondrous things that you could never figure out on your own.’ – Jeremiah 33:3 (The Message)

Leave a Reply

