Mire

Standard

I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. Psalm 40:1-2

As we sang a great song about Psalm 40:1-2 driving down the road, my daughter asked, “What is mire, anyway?”  “Wet and soggy mud”, I said. “Yuck”, that sounds terrible she resounded.

Yes, as adults, we know exactly how ugly, soggy, messy and dismal life’s circumstances can be. Right now, I have a list of prayer requests that range from restoring a marriage to healing a 7-year-old friend of my daughter’s with terminal cancer. We certainly know how the mud and mire of life can get thick and we can sometimes get stuck in it unable to find our way out or lacking the strength and faith to fight our way out.

Turn your ear to me, come quickly to my rescue; be my rock of refuge, a strong fortress to save me. Psalm 31:2

So many times we are searching for an answer, looking for a way out, grasping at anything we can get our hands on with the hope that this time we are successful – that we will be able to pull ourselves out of the mire. I have good news and bad news . . . We can’t do it. We can’t pull ourselves out, but God can and He will if we ask and allow Him to.

The problem is – unlike this world that forces its ideas, temptations, and moral code on us – God will not force Himself on us. He wants us to choose Him. To choose His promises and His truth. It seems so easy it doesn’t seem real, but it is! He is! After telling me about a difficult situation she had endured, my friend said to me, “Everyday I get up and I choose trust!” Every part of this world is pulling her back into the mire, but she gets up and chooses God.

We have to choose it! He desperately wants us to grab the hand he has extended out to us and pull us out of the mire  and put on solid ground, but we have to choose Him. We have to choose to take His hand. Will you accept and step out of the mire and on to the Rock?

“The LORD lives! Praise be to my Rock! Exalted be God, the Rock, my Savior! 2 Samuel 22:47

2 thoughts on “Mire

    • Susie, Thank you so much for your comment. I pray God puts these devotions in the hands of everyone He desires to read them. I’m grateful that you found it too.
      Blessings, Allison

Leave a Reply

