Training

Standard

My son and I were spending some time in the school library and found a book on insects.  A large beetle with two big pincers caught his eye. As we began to read, we discovered that the male beetle was very weak so you didn’t have to worry about him hurting you, but the female was strong so you should look out for her. I could tell he was having a tough time digesting this beetle fact. I must not have done a go enough job explaining how it was possible for a girl to be stronger than a boy because later that evening (out of the blue) he said, “Mommy, when I grow up I want to be a beetle trainer so I can teach all the boy beetles to be as strong as the girl beetles!”

I giggled, but it made me think about the importance and responsibility we have as Christians. Shouldn’t we place a high priority on teaching and training others in Christ so they can grow stronger in their relationship with Him? We all have spiritual gifts. Not all of us can be bible study teachers, give speeches, sermons or divinity school graduates, but we don’t have to be. Living my example can be the best way to teach and share God with others around us.

Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it. And in the church God has appointed first of all apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then workers of miracles, also those having gifts of healing, those able to help others, those with gifts of administration, and those speaking in different kinds of tongues. Are all apostles? Are all prophets? Are all teachers? Do all work miracles? 1 Corinthians 12:27

Have you thought about what you are teaching others as you interact with them each day? Have you considered what your spiritual gifts are and how you could put them to use for God’s glory? It isn’t always easy and it is certain to take you out of your comfort zone. When I open my heart to the Holy Spirit, there is never a day I go before God and I’m not humbled and in awe of all He has enabled me to do. I pray the same for you.

You then, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. And the things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses entrust to reliable men who will also be qualified to teach others. 2 Timothy 2:1-2

Leave a Reply

