Big Enough

Standard

“Is God the biggest person in the world?”, my son asked. “Yes. I would say so.”, I replied. “So, he is small enough to live in our hearts and big enough to hold the whole world?”, he  replied.

“This is what the LORD says— your Redeemer, who formed you in the womb: I am the LORD, who has made all things, who alone stretched out the heavens, who spread out the earth by myself, Isaiah 44:24

I could not have said it better.  Oh, how children can make the most difficult seem simple.  Yes, our God is enough.  He is full of enough love, forgiveness and grace to fill our hearts and our lives so that it will flow over into those around us.  The one who created the heavens, the earth and has placed the stars in the sky and knows them by name (Genesis 1:16) loves you and me enough to dwell in us and to hold our sometimes cold, weary, misguided world in His hands.  How I pray He never lets us go.

Don’t be fooled by idols of power, money, healing, or pleasure.  They are powerless (Isaiah 36:2), worthless (Psalm 31:6) and fragile (Isaiah 57:13) and will only bring shallow and temporary joy.

For the moth will eat them up like a garment; the worm will devour them like wool.
But my righteousness will last forever, my salvation through all generations.” Isaiah 51:8

Focus instead on the one and only God, our Father in Heaven who sent His son through a virgin to live and die for us.  He paid the ultimate sacrifice for you and for me.  There should be no one above Him.  Give Him all praise.  You should glorify His name and give thanks for His abundant and undeserved grace.

“I am the LORD, the God of all mankind. Is anything too hard for me? Jeremiah 32:27

Leave a Reply

