Multiplication

Standard

Recently, a very dear friend told me about a gift she had given several friends. When she gave it to them, she told them it was a gift of multiplication. She explained that she was giving them the gift with the hope they would pass it along to others.  What a wonderful idea. Maybe you have given gifts of multiplication so that not just your friends are blessed, but theirs and so on.

There are so many things I believe we need to multiply and “self” is not included.  He [God] must become greater; I must become less. John 3:3o

Allowing God to become greater than self can be challenging, but worth the effort.  A great place to start is by multiplying your knowledge of God.  In order to accomplish this, we must multiply the time we spend with Him.  We need to invest in God’s Kingdom – not just with monetary resources, but with time and service too.

Wise men store up knowledge, but the mouth of a fool invites ruin. Proverbs 10:14

As you learn more about God your faith in Him will multiply. As your knowledge and faith increase, you will become more comfortable sharing God’s Word and that will multiply the number of believers in this world. Don’t sit idle with the knowledge and love of Christ, share it with others.

You diligently study the Scriptures because you think that by them you possess eternal life. These are the Scriptures that testify about me, yet you refuse to come to me to have life. John 5:39-40

The gift of multiplication can start with you – today! More time with God = more knowledge of God = increase of faith in God = more followers of Christ.  I have never been one to love math – especially multiplication.  In fact, every night in the third grade I would come home and my Dad would sit with me (tears, tantrums and all) and help me learn my multiplication tables.  I would argue, “I will never need to know these when I grow up.  Why do I have to learn them?”  However, as I grew older I understood and saw the purpose of learning and understanding multiplication.

I believe that as you start the process of multiplying your time, knowledge and faith in God you will also began to see the big picture and God will reveal His awesome plan for you. I challenge you to take on a little more time with God this week and see what happens around you.

For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But if anyone does not have them, he is nearsighted and blind, and has forgotten that he has been cleansed from his past sins. 2 Peter 1:5-9

Leave a Reply

