On My Knees

Standard

As children, many of us learned to get down on our knees beside the bed and to say prayers. We see the pictures of children in books, on posters or in movies kneeling by their beds to say their nighttime prayers.  If you learned to do this as a child, have you stopped? Up until just a few years ago, I had stopped.

Why do we feel it is no longer necessary to get on our knees before the One who gave His only son to die for us on the cross?  The One who forgives our every sin and has washed us white as snow (Isaiah 1:18). The One who is the Alpha and The Omega, the beginning and the end (Revelation 1:8).

If we would go to God in prayer as if He is present and standing before us (and He is) I have no doubt we would kneel before Him. The Lord is pleased when we humble ourselves before Him.

He guides the humble in what is right and teaches them his way. Psalm 25:9

Because your heart was responsive and you humbled yourself before God when you heard what he spoke against this place and its people, and because you humbled yourself before me and tore your robes and wept in my presence, I have heard you, declares the LORD. 2 Chronicles 34:27

There have been times in my life when I have experienced such goodness and grace from God that I was so overwhelmed my only response was to fall on my knees with a prayer of thanksgiving and praise. This has even happened to me in the middle of the YMCA locker room (thank goodness I was alone or someone may have called 911).

My point is, that we should encounter God on our knees more often.  Not just for the BIG (good & bad) stuff, but more everyday things. He is there. He is mighty.  He is listening.  Humble yourself before Him and experience His awesome and powerful presence in a new way today.

I get on my knees! There I am before the Love that changes me. See I don’t know how, but there’s power when I’m on my knees. (Jaci Velasquez, On My Knees, Chorus)

Leave a Reply

