Unexpected

Standard

We recently sat down to read the bible with our children.  We read 2 Samuel Chapter 6. The purpose was to discuss and teach them about celebrations and how we can celebrate God in everyday life.

David, wearing a linen ephod, danced before the LORD with all his might, while he and the entire house of Israel brought up the ark of the LORD with shouts and the sound of trumpets. 2 Samuel 6:14-15

However, when we finished reading the scriptures, all the kids could focus on was when God struck Uzzah down because he touched the ark of the covenant. So my lesson on celebrating became a lesson in following God’s commandments.  Which is also VERY important – just not what I had in mind.

When they came to the threshing floor of Nacon, Uzzah reached out and took hold of the ark of God, because the oxen stumbled. The LORD’s anger burned against Uzzah because of his irreverent act; therefore God struck him down and he died there beside the ark of God. 2 Samuel 6:6-7

At the time, I laughed at God’s sense of humor, His ability to keep me on my toes and His tender way of reminding me that He is in charge – NOT me.  But, when I woke up at 3:33 a.m. with this on my heart.  I had to get up and write down what God was whispering in my ear.

Every night before I go to bed, I make a list of my schedule for the following day and place it on top of my children’s lunch boxes. I don’t pray the evening before about God’s plan for my day, I simply write down everything that is on my calendar.  Why do I wait until the morning to pray to God about how I want to serve Him and accomplish His will for the day? Shouldn’t I do that before I make out my list? How can I have room for God’s plan when I have already filled my day with items from my own agenda?

I think there are two answers to the question above.  One, God can use what is on OUR agenda to do His will.  If a pedicure is on my to-do list, there is not doubt He will place the person who needs a “Word” from the Lord beside me in the massage chair.  On the other hand, sometimes He alters my plans with a sick child, a flat tire, road construction or some other annoying last-minute situation that He uses to His glory.

The point is that my job is to serve my Lord and Savior!  Yes, many times it is a lesson or circumstance that is unexpected that brings about His glory, but when He shines – He truly Shines. The question is . . .  how will you respond to the unexpected? Will you decide to sit on the sidelines and pout or will you see the unexpected as an opportunity to make God’s glory shine?

Leave a Reply

