Footstool

Standard

Exalt the LORD our God and worship at his footstool; he is holy. Psalm 99:5

It started when I was a little girl. I put my Daddy on a pedestal when I was six.  I started puting boyfriends on pedestals when I was sixteen and mentors on pedestals when I was twenty-six.  Thankfully, now that I am approaching forty I can say the only person I have on a pedestal is my Father in Heaven.

These people in my life certainly didn’t ask to be put on a pedestal.  How unfair of me to place them there.  No one can live up to the expectations I had created for them. There was no place for them to go but down. God is the only one who can live up to perfect expectations.  He is the only Almighty (Psalm 91:1), Beloved Son (Matthew 3:16-17) , Light of the World (John 8:12), Deliverer (2 Samuel 22:2), Comforter (Jeremiah 8:18), Shield (Psalm 3:3), Bread of Life  (John 6:35) . . .there should only be one Teacher (Matthew 12:38) that we place up on a pedestal and worship at His feet.

Don’t let people do that to you, put you on a pedestal like that. You all have a single Teacher, and you are all classmates. Don’t set people up as experts over your life, letting them tell you what to do. Save that authority for God; let him tell you what to do. No one else should carry the title of ‘Father’; you have only one Father, and he’s in heaven. And don’t let people maneuver you into taking charge of them. There is only one Life-Leader for you and them—Christ. Matthew 23:8 (The Message)

I encourage you to take a close look at yourself and those in your life today.  Ask God to reveal any relationships that may be unhealthy because you have placed to much priority on that particular person.  Is there someone you count on more than Him?  Don’t forget to look closely at yourself.  As sinners we love to take control and seize the opportunity to place our own plans and ideas before God’s.

It is important not to place others on a pedestal, but just as important not to allow others to place you on one and even more important – don’t place yourself on one.

Because you’re acting like a god, pretending to be a god, I’m giving fair warning: I’m bringing strangers down on you, the most vicious of all nations.  They’ll bring you down from your self-made pedestal and bury you in the deep blue sea. Ezekiel 28:6 & 8 (The Message)

Leave a Reply

