And If I Perish. . .

Standard

I get together with a few friends on Wednesday morning for bible study.  We recently started a study on parenting – which of course brings up the topic of worry. I am sure if we all sat down right now and made a list of things we could or should be worrying about, it might take up several pages.  I shared with my friends that worry and fear are two emotions I have to give to the Lord several times a day. Thankfully, they confessed they also struggled with this and we had a very honest conversation that helped me greatly.  Sometimes knowing that you aren’t alone in a struggle gives you the courage, strength and comfort of knowing you can conquer the problem.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?  Matthew 6:25

We are NEVER alone.  You may not know a friend that is struggling with a problem like yours, but I promise that God knows your problems, He understands your fear, hears your prayers and is always walking with you to help you defeat the evil one who delights worry and fear. Know and trust that you are never alone.

Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. 9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:8-9

Several years ago as I was running on the treadmill listening to some music, it hit me.  It was as if someone walked up to me and said, “Allison, don’t fill your mind with this useless worldly music.  Fill your mind with My promises and love for you.”  That very day I came home and deleted all my current music and downloaded only contemporary Christian music.  The fact was, if I was going to ride around down all day with a song stuck on repeat in my head, I wanted it to be one of faith and encouragement. A message that was constantly reminding me who was in control and was walking with me every step of the way.

I love Esther’s sentiment in Esther 4:16 when she was faced with the possibility of death.  She prayed, trusted God was in control, watching over her and simply said, And if I perish, I perish. Do you trust God that much?  Can you hand over your fear, worry and control?  Can you trust Him enough to put your life in His hands?

“Go, gather together all the Jews who are in Susa, and fast for me. Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my maids will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law. And if I perish, I perish.” Esther 4:16

One thought on “And If I Perish. . .

  1. I remember that day you traded in your music! You’re ruined now for a constant flow of praise music. Love that Esther girl…..”for such a time as this”

Leave a Reply

