Prayer

Standard

“Prayer is like that she whispered, Sometimes it can take days . . . months . . years and then sometimes when I get really quiet I can see, hear and feel the answer all at the same time.”

A very dear friend of mine gave me a gorgeous print with this quote. I absolutely love it!  It sums it all up for me.  There are times when I pray and receive an instant answer and other prayers that seem to just sit out in space and take an eternity to be answered.  Learning to enjoy the wait and be thankful for all the blessings I already have is the tricky part.

“I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.”  Philippians 4:12-13

What a powerful scripture.  In other words, Paul was saying, thank you for your prayers, help and concern.  I really appreciate it, but you don’t need to worry about me.  I have found the recipe to being completely happy and satisfied no matter what my situation.  Wow!  Can you imagine experiencing that peace?  To be so content in resting in God’s shadow and trusting no matter what the situation – knowing He will provide you the strength to get through and He is all you need.

I think God allows needs in our lives so that we seek and depend on Him.  It also gives Him the opportunity to show off for us and blow our minds with answered prayers we could have never imagined.

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.  1 Peter 5:7

Think of time (maybe it is happening right now) when your child was sick, a friend or family member was going through a difficult time.  How did you respond?  You reached out, didn’t you?  And you wanted them to reach out to you, lean on you for help, support, love and advice.

Our Father in Heaven wants us to cast all our worries and problems on Him.  He is there waiting.  He wants to love on us, give us answers, comfort and peace. He wants to answer our prayers and teach us along the way so that each day we grow closer to being able to have contentment in every situation (Philippians 4:12).

“It was good for me to be afflicted so that I might learn your decrees.” Psalms 119:71

Leave a Reply

