Just One More Page

Standard

I love to read, but it can get the better of me.  I can’t read casually just a chapter a night.  Once I begin, I get so engrossed in the story, I can’t put it down because I can hardly wait to see how the story plays out and how it ends. I will even go as far as reading the last page of the book before I start reading.

The end of a matter is better than its beginning, and patience is better than pride. Ecclesiastes 7:8

I think many times we respond to life that same way. We rush through a circumstance, forget to seek God’s guidance or push feelings behind us because they are too difficult to deal with. We just want to get through it, find a quick fix and see what’s coming next.  When impatience gets the better of us, we miss out on a lot.

being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience Colossians 1:11

In life, each time was face a circumstance where we choose to wait on the Lord for His answer, His direction and His clarity we are empowered and strengthened.  He opens our eyes and takes the opportunity to teach us lessons that will help us endure what is to come.

Be patient, then, brothers, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop and how patient he is for the autumn and spring rains. James 5:7

We are a work in progress.  God needs us to be patient, listen and learn through every circumstance.  Each lesson builds upon the other. You can’t learn to add before you can count, you can’t build a house until you have a foundation and you can’t play the piano until you can read the notes.  Don’t rush through life and it’s challenges.  Of course, we want to fix every problem immediately, rush to a conclusion and move on to the next step, but if we aren’t careful we will miss what we need to learn to complete God’s master plan for our lives.

I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” Lamentations 3:24

Leave a Reply

