Planting a Seed

Standard

“Why doesn’t God make us love Him?” my son asked.  “God wants us to choose Him and choose to love Him.  It wouldn’t be love if He forced us to do it.” I tried to explain.  “Well, good thing everyone loves Him.” he stated “so they can go to Heaven.”  Of course, I had to explain that not everyone loves God.  My son was so perplexed by my statement he couldn’t even respond.

He called you to this through our gospel, that you might share in the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ. 2 Thessalonians 2:14

I certainly understand his confusion.  It is very difficult for me to comprehend how some choose to cast God aside and deny His existence, power and authority. After all the gifts the Lord has given me and the way He has touched my life with blessings, forgiveness, love, compassion, miracles and His presence.  I find myself unable to leave His name out of any conversation I have.  God is so much a part of my life.  I have allowed Him in and let him seep into every fiber of my life.  Leaving God out of a conversation would be like leaving out the fact that I am married and have children.

To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” John 8:31-32

As Christians we are to share the Gospel and spread God’s Word to those we come in contact with. However, I think sometimes the most powerful way to do that is not through words or conversation, but through actions and the way we live our lives.  I pray that you will allow God in to penetrate your heart, life and mind.  Doing so will cause such a great change in your relationships and actions that others will have no choice but to ask, “How do you have such peace and confidence?  How do you handle the fear without collapsing?  How do you handle the crushing blow of disappointments?”  Your reply may shock them, but it will plant a seed that will begin to grow and hopefully flourish into a beautiful belief in our Lord and Savior.

He replied, “Because you have so little faith. I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” Matthew 17:20

Leave a Reply

