Stuck in the Muck

Standard

“Surely it was for my benefit that I suffered such anguish. In your love you kept me from the pit of destruction; you have put all my sins behind your back.”  Isaiah 38:17

The word “pit” is mentioned many times in the Bible.  It can mean: abyss, chasm, hell, grave, tomb, well, hole, gorge.  You get the picture.  In the above scripture, depending on which translation you read, it means:   Pit of death, pit of destruction, nothingness pit,  or rotting pit.  It doesn’t really sound like a place we would choose to go, but sometimes we do.

It is easy to fall into a pit of despair, self-pity, worry, fear or defeat, but we must pull ourselves out and “enjoy the light because God has redeemed us from going down to the pit.” (Job 33:28). Don’t get me wrong, I have been in plenty of “pits” in my life.  In fact, sometimes I just tell my friends, “I am in a pit today, but don’t try to get me out.  I am down here and I just want to stay for a day or two.  I have having a drink and hanging up some wallpaper. In a few days I promise to come out.”  We all get a good laugh out of it, but telling them where I am is important because they will hold me accountable and will check in on me to make sure I make an exit.

“He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.”  Psalm 40:2

Are you stuck in the muck?  How long has it been?  It may have only been a few days or it may have been for a while.  You may have skipped the wallpaper and be working on a full renovation.  Make a decision today.  Don’t invest your time and energy in the “pit”. Pray right now that your Father in Heaven will give you the strength and direction to pull yourself out.  Tell a friend about your decision and ask them to check in on you to make sure you are staying on the right track.

I asked my son how he got so smart.  “Cause, my Daddy taught me.”, he replied.  If we would just rely on our heavenly Father, He will give us what we need to climb out and be with us every step of the way.  He will teach us, direct us and guide us as we overcome the “pit” we have fallen into.

“Do not let the floodwaters engulf me or the depths swallow me up or the pit close its mouth over me.”  Psalm 69:15

Leave a Reply

