Contentment

Standard

Our children were earning the privilege of opening an early Christmas present.  It just so happened that our son was able to open his present a day before my daughter.  She was so jealous.  Not just about him getting to open the present early, but also the gift he received.  I heard it all from, “It’s not fair!” to “He gets everything and I never get anything!”   Until she was able to open her gift and saw what she had been given.  Then, the roles reversed and my son was jealous while was daughter was rejoicing.  What a mess!

During my daughter’s wait, I wanted to say so many things.  “How can you say it isn’t fair?  You don’t even know what you are getting?  Just wait!  Be patient, you will see your gift is just as great, if not more!”

This is what the LORD says— your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: “I am the LORD your God, who teaches you what is best for you, who directs you in the way you should go. Isaiah 48:17

Ah, patience. . . a virtue I am always working on.  I was reminded of how often we go through this same ritual with God.  Have you ever asked, “Why them and not me? Why me and not them?  God, have you forgotten about me? This isn’t fair.”  While all along God is whispering, be patient and remain in me for I have rewards for you that you can’t even imagine.  He wants to give us the desires of our heart, but we have to be still and trust in Him (Psalm 37:7).

He is with us always and says, I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you. Psalm 32:8.  Draw from His strength, love, compassion, grace, and patience.

In Matthew 9:29 Jesus says, “According to your faith will it be done to you.” The closer we are to God the more our faith grows.  The more our faith grows the more God can do for and through us.  Trust Him and trust His timing. Be thankful for who you are and what God has provided for you today.  Find contentment in who you are and at this moment and mind comfort in knowing that God is clearing a path just for you.

So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you. 1 Peter 5:6-7 (The Message)

Leave a Reply

