His Presence

Standard

I can probably count on one hand the times in my life when I have truly felt the presence of the Lord.  Emotionally, I feel His presence often, but physically is very rare for me.  One particular time stands out the most.  In fact, I can always take myself there in my mind and relive it because it was so real.

When our daughter was 4 years old she had some medical issues arise.  It all turned out fine, but it was a very difficult and scary time for us because we were unsure at the time what the outcome would be.  I had gone out early one morning to take our dog out.  It was unusually cool that fall morning.  I was enjoying a quiet moment when a gentle breeze swept up from behind and engulfed me.  The breath of heaven blew in and wrapped around me. Tears began to swell up in my eyes as I embraced and accepted this tremendous hug from the heavens. What an amazing reminder that God is with us in everything we do (Genesis 21:22).

In speaking of the angels he says, “He makes his angels winds, his servants flames of fire. Hebrews 1:7

Oh, how I wish I could experience this everyday.  His physical presence brought an overwhelming sense peace, love, satisfaction and stillness to my soul.  I look forward to the day He offers Himself to me again in this way.  I pray that my heart, mind and soul stay ready to receive it.

Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence?  If I go up to the heavens, you are there;  if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. Psalm 139:7-10

I love soaking in His presence.  I crave it, seek it, and desire it.  Do you crave His presence in your life?  What inspires His presence?  Is it a song, prayer, a beautiful setting, meditation, reading His word, taking a quiet walk or something else?  Stop now and pray for God to reveal Himself to you in a way He never has.  I trust you will be greatly rewarded.

He sends his word and melts them; he stirs up his breezes, and the waters flow. Psalm 147:18

Leave a Reply

