All the pieces

Standard

My Dad recently lost his dog & best friend.  So, we had been talking a lot about life, death, God and heaven even more than usual on this particular weekend.  I was getting my son ready for bed that evening and he said, “Mommy, I am going to give you all the pieces of my life.”  “Really?!,” I said.  “What should I do with them?”  With confidence and trust he replied, “What ever you want to.”  Their sweet little thoughts continuously amaze me.

O Sovereign LORD, you are God! Your words are trustworthy, and you have promised these good things to your servant. 2 Samuel 7:28

Can you imagine if we were able to sit at the feet of our Lord and Savior and say, “Father, I give you all the pieces of my life.”  Can we say that to him and really mean it with all the faith and confidence in the world?  We can’t give him just a piece we have to trust Him with all the pieces.

Every time I think I have done this successfully, I find another piece of my life that I am holding on to and trying to navigate alone.  When I find myself struggling to find peace or an answer I pause and realize that it is because I have not given it to God.

Know therefore that the LORD your God is God; he is the faithful God, keeping his covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love him and keep his commands. Deuteronomy 7:9

Today, take time to reflect on what pieces of your life you are still holding onto.  Is it your job, marriage, work, family, or some other challenge that you always have in the back of your mind? Locate it and hand it over today.  Trust God to handle it.  As my children say, “God knows everything!”

But I will rescue you on that day, declares the LORD; you will not be handed over to those you fear. I will save you; you will not fall by the sword but will escape with your life, because you trust in me, declares the LORD.’ ” Jeremiah 39:17-18

Leave a Reply

