The Bottom Line

Standard

Since I started this blog the point has been to write what God teaches me through my life, circumstances and study.  My hope is that by sharing how and what God teaches me you will begin to notice Him at work in your life.

You know, God never changes.  His lessons and messages have remained the same & He keeps His promises.

The bottom line is, the only thing that changes about God’s Word is the people who teach or write about Him. Learning and studying the Word is imperative.  What are the ways you continue to fill your mind and heart with His word?  Bible study, church, Sunday school, small group, blog, devotional, conversations with friends or something else? All of these are great, but If you don’t already take time alone with God and His word – I encourage you to do so.  By only listening to others and not to Him you are limiting what He can accomplish in and through you.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”  John 15:5

Take a scripture and pour over it, soak it in, pray over it, absorb it into your soul and ask God to reveal Himself to you. He will not let you down.  When we are obedient and study His word – God is thrilled!!!  He will bless you and show off for you in ways you never imagined.  He will open your mind to things you never considered because when you serve God, you win!

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.”  1 Corinthians 9:24-27

So, today. I urge you to sit down with God’s Word and listen for His whisper as He leads, reassures and encourages you through his words.  Today, for just 30 minutes, choose God over laundry, Grey’s Anatomy, chatting on the phone or running that one extra errand.

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed.Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:41-42

 

Leave a Reply

