Please Pass the Salt

Standard

Now that my children are older, I have learned you can’t say anything “off the radar”.  Somehow, those little ears always hear it.  It is a lot of work to raise children to be Christians in this self-centered world, but even more work for us to consistently model it for them!

“Mommy, you know that little boy who always calls me a baby at school? Well, I saw him today and he stuck his tongue out at me.  He DOES NOT have God in his heart.”

My child’s last comment diffused my irritation and reminded me of what the appropriate response should be to his comment.  “Well, I guess we better add him to our prayer list tonight and pray that God finds His way into his heart.”

Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone. Colossians 4:5-6

I’ll be honest, my tongue can my greatest enemy if I am not careful.  I guess I need a little more salt or seasoning (like the scripture suggests) in my diet!  I have spent many days reading the book of James because he has a lot to say about taming the tongue.  I have learned that “no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. “James 3:8  We have to rely on the strength and direction of our Lord to fill us with grace and His Word to season us so that our conversations and words are used to build up and not destroy.

If anyone considers himself religious and yet does not keep a tight rein on his tongue, he deceives himself and his religion is worthless. James 1:26

James 1:26 changed my view on words and the tongue more than anything else.  In The Message, this scripture reads, “Anyone who sets himself up as “religious” by talking a good game is self-deceived. This kind of religion is hot air and only hot air. Real religion, the kind that passes muster before God the Father, is this: Reach out to the homeless and loveless in their plight, and guard against corruption from the godless world.”

I don’t want this to be me!  I don’t want to be full of hot air!   “the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark.” James 3:5 I realize that just writing this blog and putting my thoughts, feelings, lessons learned and encouragement out there may bring judgement from many people. Everything I do, don’t do, say, or don’t say can and will be used against me.  “Not many of you should presume to be teachers, my brothers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly.” James 3:1 You don’t have to teach a bible study, share the message of God with others, teach Sunday school, write a blog, or volunteer at church to be judged.  If you call yourself a Christian; you too, will be judged more strictly.

As true Christians we can not,  “repay evil with evil or insult with insult, but with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing. For, “Whoever would love life and see good days must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech. He must turn from evil and do good; he must seek peace and pursue it.” 1 Peter 3:9-11

Words can hurt!  We have all been the victim of an unruly or angry tongue.  Like a forest fire that starts out with a small spark – hurtful words can fuel a fire within us that leads to more evil and insults.  Our job, is to turn the evil or insult into a blessing. The dictionary says salt (verb) is used: “to cure, preserve, or treat with salt.”  Let Our Father in Heaven season you, cure you, preserve you and treat you through His scriptures so that your tongue does not overcome you.

Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone. Colossians 4:5-6


Leave a Reply

