Masks

Standard

Masks! We have all worn them and most of us still do.  Maybe not everyday, maybe just around certain people or in certain circumstances.  No, not the cute or scary masks we wear on Halloween or in a play.  The masks we wear to cover up pain, shame, depression, fear or resentment that has taken up residence in our hearts.

For years, I wore a mask of shame and guilt about past decisions that I had made.  Decisions that had hurt others along the way.  I had worn the mask so long, I didn’t remember how to take it off or even what I looked like underneath it. God was nudging me to share my story.  I didn’t want to do it, but I knew in my heart I had to.  After sharing my story with a wonderful group of women in my bible study.  I was finally able to take off the mask.   I didn’t have to hide anymore.  I found shelter under my Father’s wing and in a caring group of friends who loved me regardless of my past.  I felt his forgiveness pour over me and realized how silly and wasteful it had been for me to wait all those years to accept His forgiveness and shed the mask.

Guard my life and rescue me; let me not be put to shame, for I take refuge in you.  Psalm 25:20

I don’t think I had ever truly knew God until that moment.  I finally understood that being a Christian was more about a relationship than it was about a religion.  This was a huge turning point in my life.  After I threw away the mask I had been wearing all those years, I was able to put on the armor of God and He was able to start using me for His Glory and His ministry.  Satan no longer had a grip on me.  I believed and knew God could now use me to accomplish his will.  I praise Him for that.  I can say we have an awesome God because I have experienced it personally.

Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.”        Ephesians 6:13

My prayer for each of you today is that if you are wearing a mask, you will find the courage to put it down at our Master’s feet and leave it with Him.  And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church.” Ephesians 1:22  Accept the gift He has for you: peace, healing, restoration, forgiveness and love.  Leave it with Him and go out with a grateful heart that is ready to serve the Lord with passion and praise.

I became a servant of this gospel by the gift of God’s grace given me through the working of his power. Ephesians 3:7

We can’t truly be His servants in this world until we have allowed Him into our lives to heal our wounds and make us whole again.

Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.  1 Peter 4:10

One thought on “Masks

Leave a Reply

