Love vs. Fear

Standard

I have been reading my son Star Wars: The Clone War books.  He loves them and I confess, I do too.  I even enjoyed Star Wars as a child.  Yoda is one of my favorite characters.

“Yoda (the great Star Wars Jedi) said that fear is a way to the dark side of the Force.” Even the little green guy gets it.  Fear can destroy us, our faith, our trust and our focus on what is good and right.  Fear can certainly lead us to the “dark side”.  Only in our lives the “dark side” is sin and Satan – not Darth Vader.

One of the things I fear the most is something happening to one of my children.   I have learned to recognize it before it paralyzes me.  In fact, as soon as I begin to take on that worry and fear creeps in, I give it to God.  I wish I could say I never faltered and I never tried to take back the steering wheel, but I can’t.  The truth is, I  have to hand over my fears to God almost daily.  I have to trust in Him and His love for me and my family.  My children are, after all, His children before they are mine.  God has entrusted them to me, but they are just on loan from Him.  As a mom, it is difficult  to imagine, but I know that He loves them more than I do.  The word love (loves, loved) is mentioned almost 700 times in the NIV.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future” (Jeremiah 29:11).

The LORD appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness” (Jeremiah 31:3).

The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing” (Zephaniah 3:17).

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life (John 3:16).

Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends John 15:13).

As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love (John 15:9).

These are just a few scriptures that describe the awesome love that our God has for each one of us.  Have you ever tried to write a love letter or note to someone and express how much they mean to you?  Even for the best writer, it is often difficult to find words that can express our deepest emotions.  For many, words aren’t enough.  We need to do something tangible for someone to express our love.  For example: visiting, mowing a yard, making a meal, sending a card, etc.  Our God has done more than that for us.  Not only did He leave us the descriptions and promises of His vast love for us in the bible; He proved it when He allowed His son to die for us.  Oh, He is all about LOVE. Love we can’t even comprehend.

The questions I am contemplating today are:  How can we let fear control us when we have someone who loves us more than we can comprehend?   How can we let fear control us when we have the ultimate protector?  How can we let fear control us when we have someone who has laid down their life for us leading us down the path of life?

What is your greatest fear?  Do you trust that God is bigger than your fear(s)?  Do find comfort and rest in His infinite love?

Let the one who loves us more than anyone else sit in the driver’s seat of your life.  We have nothing to fear from Him.

I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge-that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen (Ephesians 3:16-21).

Leave a Reply

