Having Issues?

Standard

As I have mentioned in previous posts, God frequently uses my children to teach me valuable lessons.  Their adorable and sometimes very profound statements can stop me in my tracks and make me consider a deeper message.

On the way to preschool this morning my son said, “Mommy, I need to go to the doctor.  I need some issues medicine because I am having issues!”  Oh, I got a wonderful laugh from his adorable statement and I replied, “You know what?  We all have issues and some “issues” medication would be great.  I wish they made that.”

Oh course, as my wheels started turning and I thought more about what he said I heard the whisper. . . “It does exist.  There has always been a medication for any issue you have.  It is the Bible, God’s written Word.”

Why isn’t the Bible the first place we turn when we are faced with a problem or issue?  If we are sick – we go to the doctor, if we need advice – we call a friend, if we have a legal issue – we call a lawyer . . . the list goes on and on.  What if our first stop was God and His Word?  I wonder how many issues could be resolved by just stopping and having some quiet time with the Lord.

All Scripture is Godbreathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 2 Timothy 3:16

Everything we need to know in order to live our lives to the fullest is in the Bible.  God has provided the answers and direction.  All we have to do is open the book, our hearts and soak it in.  If our car is broken we go the mechanic because we know he has the skills to fix the problem.  Usually, we don’t even know the mechanic and we still trust him to fix our car.  As Christians, we say we know our God.  We say we trust Him and that we love Him.  Let’s live that example, not just say it.  Let’s trust our God to come through for us.  Let’s be patient while we wait for his plan or for Him to help us tackle our “issue(s)”.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5

When I approach God in prayer to discern His will in a situation I simply say, “Father, I don’t want to do this if it isn’t your will because if I do it and it isn’t your will it won’t work and will just be a big mess – so please guide me and lead me in Your direction – not my own.”

“A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.” Proverbs 16:9

Now, I would love to be able to tell you that I approach every situation like this and that I take everything to God first, but I can’t.  However, I am trying to become more obedient and take this approach with every detail of my life. I have learned (the hard way) that I am incapable of doing anything without the Lord by my side.  Alone, my skills are completely inadequate!  I couldn’t face a day as a mom, wife, daughter, friend, volunteer, sister without knowing that my Lord is instructing me and teaching me in the way I should go and guiding me with His eye Psalm 32:8.  What a peace that can bring if we only accept it.

“Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord, trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass … Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him.” Psalm 37:4,7




Leave a Reply

