Unconditional Love

Standard

My son came into the kitchen crying.  He was upset with his sister.  Apparently, he had hit her and she was mad at him for that.  If you are a mom, I am sure you have heard it all before!  So, we had a talk about hitting, why it wasn’t kind, why people don’t like it, you get the drift.   Then he said to me, “Mommy, why do you always love me?”

My first response was a thought, “I am so thankful he understands that even though I don’t love his actions, I always love him.”  My second response had to be answer to his question and honestly, my response felt very weak as I looked at him and said, “I always love you because I am your mom and your are my son.”  Seriously, couldn’t I come up with anything more creative and inspiring than that?  Thankfully, it was good enough for him and off he went.

Isn’t that how it is with us and God?  We are his children and when we have sinned or done something terrible we sit at his feet and say, “How can you still love me?  How can you possibly forgive this?”

Return to the LORD your God, for he is gracious and compassionate,
slow to anger and abounding in love, and he relents from sending calamity. Joel 2:13

His answer is so simple, it doesn’t seem like enough.  It feels like we should have to do more, pay a bigger price or suffer some sort of punishment.  No!  He forgives because He is our Father and His love for us is deep, constant and unconditional.  “Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed,” says the LORD, who has compassion on you.”  Isaiah 54:10  If that love didn’t exist, if he didn’t love us as He says He does there is no way He could have allowed His son to die on that cross for us.

God forgiving us that is the easy part . . . the question is usually can we accept that forgiveness and move forward.

“I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more.  Isaiah 43:25

Trust Him.  Believe in Him.  Follow Him. Celebrate Him.  You are forgiven.  God washes our sins away daily and allows us the opportunity to start each day with a fresh start.  Take advantage of it.  Rejoice in it.  Don’t allow the bondage of sin to hold you down, harden your heart, make you lose your way, or lead you into more temptation.  God’s love is priceless, take refuge in the shadow of His wings (Psalm 36:7).

I have swept away your offenses like a cloud, your sins like the morning mist.
Return to me, for I have redeemed you.”  Isaiah 44:22

Leave a Reply

