GODCHICK

Standard

A few years ago my husband gave me a bracelet for my birthday.  It was silver with “GODCHICK” engraved on it.  I loved it, but eventually the bracelet wore out and I decided to make it the personalized license plate on my car.  I’ll tell you, it puts a lot of pressure on a person when you are driving around town everyday and everyone knows you are a Christian.  No cutting people off or losing your temper with the person who cuts you off.  You get the picture!

I have even thought to myself, “maybe I should take it off”.  It is a lot of responsibility and what if I can’t live up to the example I need to portray as GODCHICK?  What if I need to scream at my kids one morning on the way to school because they won’t stop arguing?

Then I reconsidered and took a tough look at myself.  Why does it take a license plate to make me feel accountable?  It should be that – I want to please God and live in such a way that brings others closer to Him.  Hypocrite!  That is what so many Christians are accused of and why so many turn away from Christianity.  We talk one way, but live another. I don’t want that to be me.  How about you?  Even if we can fool others, we can never fool God (Job 13:9).

“But the one who does not know and does things deserving punishment will be beaten with few blows. From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.” Luke 12:48

No one said it would be easy.  As this scripture states, those who receive much are held to great accountability.  As Christians, we receive the greatest gift that can be given – complete forgiveness, atonement for all sins and eternal life with our Father in Heaven.  If that doesn’t inspire us to live our lives as an example of His love, I don’t think there is anything else that could, not even a license plate!

We will be held accountable for all we do and say in this life.  We will all give an account to God (Romans 14:12).  We need to take God’s words and our responsibilities as Christians very seriously.  Do this out of a love for our Lord and Savior not just for looks or reputation.

As an exercise, for the next week imagine a big sign hanging around your neck that says, “I am a Christian!” or if you are really brave wear a shirt that says it!  See how your words and actions change and reflect on it.

“See, I am setting before you today a blessing and a curse- the blessing if you obey the commands of the LORD your God that I am giving you today;  the curse if you disobey the commands of the LORD your God and turn from the way that I command you today by following other gods, which you have not known.” Deuteronomy 11:26-28

Leave a Reply

