Wait

Standard
Why is it so difficult to wait on the Lord to answer our prayers or direct us to serve His purpose?  There are so many scriptures that tell us how important it is to “wait” on the Lord. One of my favorites is:

They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.  Isaiah 40:31

I know that if I am waiting on anything I feel like I am wasting time or I am being inefficient.  Inefficiency is a pet peeve of mine, so it can be tough on me.  However, I have discovered that waiting for God to speak is not inefficient or inactive.  It is a time to dig deeper, pray more, and development a more intimate relationship with Him.  It is not up to us to figure out the answers, all the responsibility is God’s. We are trying to accomplish His outcome – not ours.   Really, doesn’t that just take a load off your shoulders?  We don’t have to figure it out.  We just have to wait and respond in obedience.  I am so thankful I don’t have to come up with the plan – I just need to do the work.

Think about how often we say, “Oh, to be a kid again.  No worries, just fun! Someone to make all the decisions and take care of everything for you.” That’s us!  We are still kids in our Father’s eyes.  We don’t have to figure it all out on our own.  More than anything, He wants us to be still, know Him, understand Him, and wait for His whisper.  Like our own kids, who want everything – RIGHT NOW!!!  We are the same.  But, I am trying to put the frustration and impatience aside and treasure the waiting.  I’m trying to appreciate the fact that “waiting” is taking me closer to God and taking me into a deeper relationship with Him.
There is always a lesson in the waiting and it might just be that until we learn that lesson our Father can’t give us the answer we are longing for.

While I wait for answers, direction, understanding, and clarification – Our Lord is the “strength of my heart” (Psalm 73:26).  I couldn’t face the day without His strength!

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. Psalm 73:26

Leave a Reply

