God’s Promises Never Fail

Standard

“Soon I will die, going the way of everything on earth. Deep in your hearts you know that every promise of the Lord your God has come true. Not a single one has failed!” – Joshua 23:14
This Sunday we were at the pool trying to get in one more day of summer. Matt left to get our lunch from the clubhouse and my son said, “Mommy, Daddy just left.” “Yes, I know, I said. He will be right back.” Culli responded quickly, “But, how do you know?” After I took a moment to collect my thoughts and consider what he had just asked, I responded, “Faith, I guess. ”

I have thought about that conversation many times this week. We certainly don’t know if we will be “right back” or what will happen in our day. Just this week I lost another sweet woman in my life to cancer. It has almost been a year that my friend Shannon was taken home after her battle with cancer. We all have these things that happen in our lives that remind us of how fragile this life really is.

In this cruel and confusing world, what do we cling to? God’s promises! I am so thankful for His promises and even more thankful that He never changes and His promises never fail. We can’t count on much in this world we live in, but we can count on our God! We can have faith that what He has promised will be fulfilled and His love for us will never cease.

Sometimes in the midst of a crisis or concern, I can’t seem to remember those promises. My mind start swirling with what if’s and oh, no’s. So, I have created a card I keep in my bible that has God’s promises listed and scriptures that go with each promise. Here are a few of my favorites:

You say: It’s Impossible, God says: All things are possible (Luke 18:27)
You say: I can’t go on, God says: My grace is sufficient (2 Cor. 12:9 & Psalm 91:15)
You say: I am afraid, God says: I have not given you a spirit of fear (2 Timothy 1:7)
You say: I feel all alone, God says, I will never leave or forsake you (Hebrews 13:5)
You say: I am always worried or frustrated, God says, Cast all your cares on me (1 Peter 5:7)

Oh, that is just a few of God’s awesome promises. They flow from Him freely for anyone who will accept them.
There are days I just want to open my heart up and let him pour His promises into my soul and fill me up. This world and Satan can suck our hearts and souls dry if we let him. That is why continually seeking God’s wisdom and claiming His promises are so important.

You wouldn’t take a road trip without filling up your gas tank. I would like to suggest we don’t go out into this world without filling up our hearts with God’s Word. You don’t even have to pay for it because Jesus already took care of the bill!

Leave a Reply

