Does God Still Speak?

Standard

“In the past God spoke to our forefathers through the prophets at many times and in various ways, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son.” Hebrews 1:1-2

I use to say things like, “Well, I would know it was God speaking if he spoke to me through the burning bush in my backyard or turned my purse into a serpent. The OT guys had it easy. There was no doubt when God was speaking to them.” I was living like God didn’t speak to me/us anymore, but He does. Just in a different way. Jesus had not arrived in the Old Testament, so God had to speak for himself. When Jesus walked the earth, God spoke through Him. From Acts to today, God still speaks, but He uses the Holy Spirit. Not as noticeable as a burning bush or a person standing in front of you, but still very much alive and desires to speak to our hearts. Bottom line: God still speaks – just in a different way.

Henry Blackaby says, “If a Christian does not know when God is speaking, he is in trouble at the heart of his Christian life.” This is to say that in order to hear God, we must know Him intimately. We must understand that He speaks through other believers He places in our path, through our prayer time, through our study of His Word, or through a situation you may be facing. What is so awesome is that He doesn’t speak to us the same way every time and He doesn’t speak to me the same way He may speak to you. He wants to meet us where we are, make it meaningful and special to us. For example, if my husband came home and brought me roses I would be surprised and very happy, but if he came home with tulips (my favorite flower) it would mean even more to me. God knows us better than we know ourselves and He wants to speak to us in a way that will be meaningful and special to us. God is speaking to you! Are you listening?

My son came home from preschool last year and told me, “I wasn’t a good listener in Spanish today, but they didn’t put me in jail, just time out!” This made me laugh, but there is also a good lesson in this. Listening . . . especially when God speaks is crucial to experiencing God in our lives. If we continue to hear and not respond when God speaks to us we could face a “famine of hearing the words of the Lord” Amos 8:11-12.

We need to decide today that 1) we will take the time to get to know our Father intimately so that when He speaks we will recognize it and 2) when He does speak that we will take immediate action and be obedient to His direction or request.

“Consider carefully how you listen. Whoever has will be given more; whoever does not have, even what he thinks he has will be taken from him” Luke 8:18

One thought on “Does God Still Speak?

  1. I just found your blog. Very inspiring. I related to this one on a very personal level. Dan’s father died last week from a tragic motorcylce accident. Knowing Dan has had several incidents that have occurred like this before, this incident made me look deeper into it. He came out of the shower and said, ” I just wanted you know and prepare for one of my grandparents will die soon , I dreamed one of them was in auto accident” I always listen, usually not commenting much. A few days later, his dad died. I do believe God can use dreams to reveal his will to people . There are many incidents( more than I knew of after researching it). It is evident that you can be the recipent of a message from God. What a great gift!. I can say that also through this experience, having kids that live by faith makes a great example for those you don’t. Everyone was asking me how amazing the kids were through this. I said, ” they don’t fully understand but they have peace”

    I really enjoyed your blogs and look forward to reading them.

Leave a Reply

