God Shows Off

Standard

There are not many times in my life that I can say God has responded instantly to a prayer request I have laid before Him. This isn’t to say that He hasn’t answered my prayers – He has answered many of them. He just doesn’t always do it instantly!

Last Thursday night, I got one of those instant answers and it was amazing.

I was sitting on our bed doing my bible study and felt the need to pray for God to show me His presence. We do have a God who adores us and wants more than anything to have a love relationship with us.
So I simply prayed, “Father, thank you for your abiding love and guidance. I pray that you will show me your presence and show off for me. Lord, blow my mind.”
Not even two minutes later the fire alarm in our whole apartment building goes off! We had to wake up the kids and evacuate.

Talk about taking 1 Kings 18:24 to a new level.
“Then you call on the name of your god, and I will call on the name of the LORD. The god who answers by fire—he is God.” Then all the people said, “What you say is good.”

Thank goodness he just answered by fire alarm and not a real fire, but He did answer!!!
The fire alarm has even more significance for me personally. Since I was a little girl, I have always been afraid of my home catching on fire. I would pack all of my purses with my favorite toys and leave them by my window so that I could toss them out and climb out after them if our house caught on fire.

I think building our new home brought all of those worries about “fire” to the surface. For several weeks prior to my “instant” answer to prayer I had been struggling with the worry of fire. I was giving it to God daily for Him to handle so that my mind would not become consumed with fear.

I have found that the only answer – the only formula to get rid of fear in my life is to give it over to my Lord and Savior. Sometimes I can turn it over once and never worry again, but some things are a daily battle!

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34

Leave a Reply

