One more thought – Saver

Standard

In my last post, I told the story of how my son wiped away a tear when I was crying and told me not to worry – that he would be my “saver.” I realized there was another lesson in this story.
So many times I think we try to make a friend, spouse, parent or family member our “saver” instead of our one and only Savior, Jesus Christ. We are setting a course for disaster when we do this.

First, it is a sin to put any other before our Lord and Savior. It is the first of the ten commandments even before thou shall not murder, steal or commit adultery. “You shall have no other gods before me.” Exodus 20:3 The fact that God put this commandment above all the others should speak volumes to us. I believe if we would just follow this first commandment all the others would never be a problem because as we move closer to Christ we desire to live more as He did.

Secondly, no one has the ability to give us unconditional love, grace, mercy, forgiveness, cleanse us of our sins and promise us eternal life except our heavenly father. He alone can give us those things.

Thirdly, we are setting ourselves and those in our lives we have placed in the “saver” role up for a tremendous failure and disappointment. It can also cause great hardship in the relationship and often times will end it.

Let me be clear, I don’t think we elevate people to this level on purpose or with intention. I think it just happens over time. We begin to rely on the individual more than we do God and this allows sin into our lives.
The great news is that we can repent of this sin and start over with God. He is always there. Nothing can separate us from Him. We only need to claim His promises and accept His love.

“For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39

Leave a Reply

