Saver

Standard

It had been a particularly tough day. As I was saying prayers with the kids before bed my eyes welled up with tears. I had to pause for a moment to collect myself. My son looked up at me and wiped a tear off my cheek. He said, “Don’t worry Mommy, I’ll be your saver.” What a great little super hero!

I wonder how many times my Father in Heaven whispered to me “I’ll be your SAVIOR” as He counted the tears that fell from my face, walked beside me during a time of sin or difficulty. I’m so thankful He never gave up on me and kept nudging my heart back to Him.
He chased after my heart for many years before I was finally able to understand what it really meant to have Him in my life and accept all He was offering me. For so long, it was hard to comprehend how I could was worthy of His unconditional love, total forgiveness, grace, acceptance and mercy. The truth is I’m not worthy of it! None of us are, but God gives it to us anyway.

Kay Arthur recapped Ephesians this way in one of her books, “When we are saved, each of us becomes a member of Christ’s body, forged with resurrection power, and seated with Him in heavenly places above all rule, power, and authority. Nothing can alter our position. It is set forever in heaven. But position is one thing; living accordingly is another.”

For so many years of my life I held the position, but was not living like I did! I am learning to own my mistakes and my past. I don’t need to be ashamed, but instead ask forgiveness and move forward to living a life that is pleasing to God. Giving up my “old self” and walking in the light.

“for you were formerly darkness, but now you are light in the Lord; walk as children of light trying to learn what is pleasing to the Lord” Ephesians 5:8 & 10

I thank God that He allows me a fresh start everyday! Another chance to do the right thing because there are many days when it feels I have failed miserably at pleasing Him. I praise Him for His abundant love, forgiveness and grace.

Leave a Reply

