May I Take Your Order

Standard

It had been a long morning and I just wanted to go home and take a nap. I told my daughter on the way home from running errands that I would like to order a thunderstorm for the afternoon because that would be great “nap taking weather”. She replies, “but Mommy, it’s not a restaurant you can order from – it’s God’s thunderstorm. He will send it if He wants to.”

I am certainly guilty of “placing my order” with God instead of prayerfully seeking Him, giving Him control and trusting in His perfect plan. I have learned the hard way more times than I would like to admit. Although I still falter, I am so much better at listening and learning from God. I have a strong desire to seek God’s path for my life. I don’t always understand it, I don’t always like it, and sometimes He certainly thinks more highly of me than I do of myself. It takes a lot of trust and a lot of faith.

It is so difficult to fathom that God has had a plan, His perfect plan, for me since before he knit me in my mother’s womb. In reality, He knows me better than I will ever know myself. Read a little bit of Psalm 139.

1 O LORD, you have searched me
and you know me.
2
You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
3
You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
4
Before a word is on my tongue
you know it completely, O LORD.
5
You hem me in—behind and before;
you have laid your hand upon me.
6
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.

Once again, God spoke to me through my children. The little ones He knit into my womb. I am always amazed at how small children can make such a simple statement and have such a great impact on me. I pray that one day my children will read these stories and understand what an impact they have made on me and my walk with God.

O LORD, you are my God; I will exalt you and praise your name, for in perfect faithfulness you have done marvelous things, things planned long ago. Isaiah 25:1

One thought on “May I Take Your Order

Leave a Reply

