Forgiveness

Standard

During a rushed Monday morning trying to get everyone out the door, I lost my patience with the kids and yelled at them to please hurry and put their shoes – for the 4th time.


Later that morning, before we went into the grocery store, I asked my son to crawl in my lap. As I hugged him I

told him I was sorry I had lost my temper. I explained that I was in a hurry and frustrated, but that I still should not have yelled at him. He embraced me and said, “I love it when you say that mommy.”

After this moment, we climbed out of the car and a man who had been sweeping in front of his store said, “Excuse me, but I just have to tell you that was a Kodak moment. I don’t know what you two were talking about, but I have never seen a look of such contentment on a little boys face as I just did on your sons.”


Wow! What a powerful confirmation that asking forgiveness and being forgiven is such an important part of our existence. Our happy existence. Can you imagine God’s look of total contentment with us when accoknowledge our sin and we ask him for forgiveness?

Who is a God like you, who pardons sin and forgives the transgression of the remnant of his inheritance? You do not stay angry forever but delight to show mercy. Micah 7:18

Why is it so difficult for us to ask for forgiveness? Why is it so difficult to forgive others after they have hurt us so deeply? It is pride, disappointment, anger, bitterness?


Oh, how I wish I could say I had perfected these skills. I know I can only do these things because of the strength, courage, and love that Christ has given me. I pray we all learn how to love more, forgive quickly and extend grace freely like children are quick to do and our Father in Heaven has and always will with perfection!

Leave a Reply

