All the Money in the World

Standard

My son turns 4 this month. I can’t believe how fast time moves when you are watching your kids grow up. It brought to mind one of my favorite things he said when he was just 2 years old.

It was just another day of running errands and trying to get everything checked off the “to do” list. As we pulled into the parking lot of the bank, my son asked, “Mommy, where are we?” My then 4 year old daughter interrupts up before I can answer and says, “This is where we put all our money so we can give save it to give to God to pay for our sins.”

Oh, I had to chuckle. How adorable, I thought! Then, I realized how scary that would be. I’m not sure how much money I would need to pay for my sins, but I am quite sure that we have no where near enough in our bank account!! In fact, all the money in the world probably would not cover it!
I stopped at that moment and said a prayer of Thanksgiving. How grateful I am that God sent His only son to die for me. How grateful and how unbelievable!

No money, no kind deed, no donation, no gift or speech needed! Just a confession of our sins to our Father in heaven. It almost sounds to easy doesn’t it? I think that is why it takes longer to forgive ourselves. Why we all feel the guilt linger. It can linger for days, weeks, months or even years. It is why some turn to drugs, alcohol, shopping, or other distractions. Sometimes it is difficult to trust that we are forgiven.

Leave a Reply

