Waters of Life

Standard

We just spend the most amazing week in the mountains of NC. It was such a welcome treat to get away from the heat, hussle and house building in Raleigh. The cabin we stayed in was on 25 beautiful acres. Big Horse Creek ran right through the property. The sound of the water rushing through the rocks was mesmerizing. I would wade out to the center of the creek to sit on this huge rock. It was so big that it had created a fork in the creek and water rushed by it on both sides. It is amazing how the years of water have molded, shaped and changed the rocks in the creek. They are all so unique. Unique in color, shape, texture and size.


It reminded me of how we all start out as one person and as we go through the waters (many times – rapids) of life we are molded and changed just like the rocks. I just turned 36 and would like to think that I am a much better person than I was 15 years ago. I have experienced so many joyful times, but have also felt the crushing blow losing a friend to cancer and other very difficult times. Times when the waters of life seem they might carry me away, but I held firm in my trust of the Lord. Although, I don’t pretend to understand the Lord’s plan! There are so many things that don’t make sense to me and I can’t comprehend how they could be part of God’s plan. I just remain faithful and know that God keeps all His promises and His plan is perfect.


“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11


I kept a small stone from the creek to remind me that being molded, shaped and refined through the waters of life can make me a more beautiful woman, wife, mother, and follower of Jesus Christ.


Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make your paths straight

Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a Reply

